Skip navigation

This last Saturday was fun to do. I and Mark attended an Aboriginal craft fair at the Aboriginal Center in Vancouver. Mark and I played/sang songs for the craft vendors and shoppers who came to buy aboriginal jewelries and food. I was prepared on one hand for the open mic because Salish Seas, the organizer of the event said that we were allowed to sing/play three songs, but then I could see, that not many people were singing and playing songs, other than us.  So Salish Seas said, we could sing more, but I wasn’t prepared to sing anymore.  I had to improvise.  Mark had a long list.  He had lots of songs to sing. Now I know, but I knew this before generally,  be prepared for anything because if the organizer says you can sing and play longer, then do it.

The atmosphere of the place was positive. I knew two people there. One of the women vendors sold bakery goods at the craft faire she worked on the Graffiti as a production assistant.  I hadn’t seen her in a long time. She said she graduated from Simon Fraser University in archeology.  She received her Bachelor of Arts degree.  Great!

To be among Indian people can be beautiful sometimes.  _________________________________________________

Was brought down today for reasons. I kind of felt low.  I’m over it now. The sun came out. It made me feel happier.

I worked on my paper work. It will be finished by the end of this week or next week I am happy to say.  I plod through this.  I make myself do it. It’s hard work to do. I thought I’d never see the end of the tunnel. At first it seemed so overwhelming to start on.  Once this paper work is finished, I’ll be freer.  A huge weight lifted.  I will await the decisions after the paper work is turned in.

I like it that sun and light stays out until 10:45 p.m. at night literally.  I mean I view blue light in the west at night. By 10 p.m. the sky’s not very black and stars are not out yet.  It seems like about 6 p.m.  Sad to see it go away.

______________________________________

I called Critter Care to find out what happened to Hunter the  small cottontail Mark found at Serpentine Park. He died the same day we brought him into Critter Care.  I heard two reports from two different people. I called on June 12 to find out about him.  I was a little perturbed about that because I felt very happy about the first report. Person said he made it, but then on Sunday, it was a complete different story. Another woman said, he died.  That was sad.  He had a lot of puncture wounds.   Such a small rabbit  ever seen in my life. When we found him,  I saw a huge fly hovering over  and a few insects surrounded him.  Intuitively I felt he was going to die because he was in such bad shape.

____________________________________

And then I heard about the Amazonian Indian massacre in Baqua, Peru during June 8-12, that the mainstream press shuns and does not pay attention to. To constantly be ignored.  All the things that happen in the world to Indian people, sometimes it makes me sad a lot.  Some of it’s good, but we are definitely are overshadowed  or to be more precise, censored out.

____________________________________

But I luv the sun and heat.  It makes  me happy. I miss where I come from a lot.

Leave a Reply

