Skip navigation

Today Mark showed me a hive he said that belonged to a black wasp with a white zig zag design on his/her back.  The wasp was not the typical yellow jacket wasp.  This one was larger than a yellow jacket wasp.  One of the wasps visited us about two weeks ago.  Mark said as he opened the gate here, a black wasp headed straight to his head. He had to swat it. Mark said he saw an unusual looking hive at a place where he walks to and visits.  He wanted me to see it. It was located close by. I took some pictures of the hive and wasps.  As I took some final pictures, I leaned onto a tree that held the hive. Hive swayed. Wasps felt the movement of the branch.  Within a few seconds a bunch of wasps flew out of their nest and started to attack us. We ran.  Mark kind of was stuck in place.  I ran the way we walked into the area. I knew how to get out.  I wore my hiking boots to walk and to view the hive this morning. One of the black wasps bit Mark’s finger twice. It swelled up, but fortunately he is not allergic to it.

I told Mark to keep on walking fast or run because the wasps might still fly after us. I took the black wind breaker, kept moving it in the wind to shake off any wasp that lurked inside his windbreaker.  He seemed to think a wasp was stuck inside his jacket. As we walked home, a wasp flew out from no where.  It may have come from his jacket.  This is the first time I was chased by wasps.  It was about 12:15 p.m. when we reached home.

I told Mark if the swelling swells up after a couple of hours, go see the doctor. So it’s 2:15 p.m. now. No huge swelling. Good. Once I was with this guy in Washington State hiking. Some bees hung out near a creek.  We went close to their hive. The bees came after us and stung us because we came too close to them. I was stung three times.  My friend was stung as well, but within a few minutes, his body and skin turned into a bunch of welts.  His skin and body looked strange. It scared him.  Nothing more happened to him, except that. Later on I learned the sting reaction could’ve been fatal. As I recall, I didn’t even treat my bee stings.  It went away on it’s own.

Leave a Reply

