Skip navigation

Rock You became defunct.  Will put up still photos later on of the cats.

You can see that I luv cats.  Ninja Pants our cat looks at the rain from a window.  The white and black cat is our neighbor’s cat. Pretty cat.  He was sitting on a fence in the back of our apartment.

I viewed The Heart is a Lonely Hunter last night on dvd.  It was released during 1968.  I saw it as a new release at a movie theatre in AZ when it came out.  Oh so sad.  The main character reminds me of myself, however, Alan Arkin who played the main character was so patient with people, far more generous, hospitable and thought more about other people than myself.  He was a deaf mute person. People who had prejudices against him said he was a “dummy,”  but as the people came to know him as person, they began to like him a lot.  It illustrated how people can be so cold, cruel and mean to other people as they were to him.  He killed himself in the end.   I cried at the end of it. A sad story but a real story to me.  I think because it triggers feelings deep inside that want to be released.

Jean Pierre who is the director of the Amiens Film Festival wrote in response to my note this week.  It was about the Graffiti to see if it would be included in this year’s film fest event.  They wrote me yes but for next year to screen it.  They wrote me why.  The festival will have another retrospective of Native American directors and a book will be published as well.  Such dedication the French have to remember Native American filmmakers, much better than Americans and Canadians at this time.  So I was happy. I really thought they rejected it.  It’s so hard. One thing about those reality shows—I like some of them a lot like America’s Top Model, So You Think You Can Dance, USA & Canada—is that they show how the aspiring models, dancers or designers feel when they get eliminated or rejected.  People cry in rejection. That is not a lie. I cry just like them when I hear the news.  My Graffiti is not a normal drama video. Lot of people hate it.  Only a few like it.  Therefore it does not get that a widespread screening.  I tried my best to make it and people do not consider that.  I guess why should they.  Some who are very ignorant think I did it overnight?   Wish there was a film video festival so very open minded that included every type of film and video made by Indian people rather than to only include certain types.  Include all for better or worse.  If this doesn’t happen, will have to do it myself.  Create some sort of conference festival for Indigenous filmmakers in U.S. I know I can do it.

Leave a Reply

