Skip navigation

A Sunday Day will attend a Pow Wow in Delta to show a co worker friend from the SPCA Surrey Cat Care about what a Pow wow is like because she really does not know. She wants to know. I said to her yesterday when I spoke to finalize the plan to meet her, I will bike to the place if the weather is good weather: it is sunny and clear, gray and clear or drive the car if it rains. Yesterday I stayed over at Wendy’s place in Vancouver. On Friday, she and I worked on a dvd face cover. It took a lot of time to find out how it worked. I slept very well on Friday night, which is good. She had a blues guitar lesson on Saturday at l p.m. Before I left, she said, to stop by the Carnegie Theatre where the lesson took place. I said, okay.

I had to leave to view an artist’s show at the Leighdon Gallery in Vancouver on W. 3rd Street and Columbia. The show was good. I made it just in time before it closed, actually at closing time. For some reason the owner of the gallery let me view the pictures in just the right amount of time. Actually on my way to look for the gallery, I became lost. I thought, it must be located at Emily Carr Art School on Granville Island, but it was not. I biked all the way to Granville area. W. 3rd Avenue  just stopped. A little beyond Granville, I saw an art gallery in the area. I decided to ask the man who managed the gallery for directions. He was kind enough to show me where it was. He was very good about it. So I figured if it so happens I don’t make it, then I don’t make it. I’ll travel to Vancouver again during the week to look at the show. Back tracking on my way to the search for the gallery on W. 3rd Street, I ran into a bike consortium. A group of people were cleaning with biodegradable soap and tuning up the bikes. Also, information was given out by donation at a table set up: maps, brochures for bike palooza in June, bike patches and a vegetarian cookie. All this was a donation. A real good deal for a low income person. The people who managed this were very kind too. I said I would return to the bike corner after I did my errand, which was to view the art work. After the bike’s bath, the guy who checked my bike out recommended I get the spokes corrected at the Pedal Depot, which straightens out tire warps on metal tire wheels. Also, he recommended to get new brake cables. He said the spokes to straighten would cost about $15, which isn’t too bad a cost, unlike $50.00, which is a lot of money to spend. He indicated my bike was not in such great shape. I knew it wasn’t. I thanked him for at least trying. It is great to have machinery analyzed like that. It is not often I am able to obtain any kind of technical expertise to improve my bike’s machinery.

After the bike was cleaned and checked, I biked to the Carnegie Centre to check out the blues lesson. I was afraid to go in and observe but the teacher didn’t mind it. He let me sit in. He even offered to let me use the guitar and play chords. I tried. I know basic chords, but I haven’t practiced them in 25 years. The riff he taught was difficult and would take time to learn but that was okay. At the end he wrapped it up. He reviewed the history of the blues, guitar players and period of the time. He played some blues songs that some people liked in the class. He talked about Robert Johnson. I inserted something about Stop Breakin Down song. The teacher played it. I sang it softly, but then the teacher noticed that I could sing it. He let me sing it in full volume. I turned it on. I know it but I don’t practice it a lot, so the words aren’t memorized. I did a good job! I know I did. I asked him about the Willie Dixon song, The Hoochie Coochie Man. I sang the song, but inserted woman into man. It was real fun. He invited me to sing at the final Wednesday night of the class this coming week with the students. I said yes, I will attend and sing those two songs. It made me happy. It makes me happy because I know those songs and I can sing them well in my alto voice. To be invited like that means I’m included, which is fun and positive because I am not always included among people. Yesterday, Saturday was a day of INCLUSION. It’s a great feeling to belong to a club with people, the bike and the blues music circles.

Leave a Reply

