Skip navigation

IMG_5171 (2)

Been reading two books by Native American writers.  Native Historians Write Back. Edited by Susan A Miller & James Riding In, 2011. Texas Tech University Press.

I Tell You Now, Autobiographical Essays by Native American Writers. Edited Swann & Krupatm, 1987. University of Nebraska Press Lincoln & London.  Simon Ortiz, Mary Tall Mountain, Carter Revard, Duane Niatum, Joy  Harjo, Linda Hogan & other writers.

List of some essays from Native Historians Write Back.  Donna L. Akers, Removing the Heart of the Choctaw People, Indian Removal from a Native Perspective.

Decolonizing the 1862 Death Marches, Waziyatawin Angela Wilson, Dakota.

Chairmen, Presidents and Princesses Navajo Nation Gender and the Politics of Tradition, Jennifer Nez Denetdale.

Seminoles and Africans under Seminole Law, Sources and Discourses of Tribal Sovereignty and Black Indian Entitlement, Susan A. Miller.

_______________________________________________________________________________________

I Tell You Now, Autobiographical Essays by Native American Writers. Edited Swann & Krupat. 1987. U of Nebraska Press Lincoln & London.  Simon Ortiz, Mary Tall Mountain, Carter Revard, Duane Niatum, Joy  Harjo, Linda Hogan & other writers.

I met Mary Tall Mountain once through Alfred an Italian guy apart of the American Indian Studies Program-UCLA. He knew Zoila Cruz who was apart of Am Indian Studies Program, too. I met him when I attended UCLA film school. He introduced me to Mary Tall Mountain  in San Francisco.  She was a very kind person.  I read through news that she passed away.  Sad. Alfred got around all right.  He met different types of people.

Some of the other writers from the I Tell You Now book I have met.

As I read the two books I idealized and thought—Native American filmmakers and First Nations filmmakers could write essays about films, their films and videos get them published like Cahiers du Cinema.  My ideas are over looked such as Tourquoise Filmmaker: Indigenous Women Screening & Dialogue Conference which I continue to look money for.  I say this because I do not receive feedback about it? Why not write essays about the Indigenous in video, cinema, documentaries and dramas? Why not?  I do it on my own and publish essays on line on my blog visualeye.wordpress.com. I will never give up trying to get Tourquoise Filmmaker done, but it is hard.  Another idea, for Native Americans filmmakers in US and First Nations filmmakers in Canada, write auto biographical essays about themselves.  Be so interesting to read the essays from their point-of-view, various and different. Wouldn’t that be cool. I think it would be!

Leave a Reply

